Los Angeles Dodgers are NL West Division Champs for the 7th Consecutive Year


Dodgers clinch NL West Division.

The Los Angeles Dodgers are now the first major league baseball team to clinch a spot in the 2019 postseason. Last week, on Tuesday, September 10, 2019, the Dodgers played the Baltimore Orioles and won with a score of 7-3. Striking out 11, Los Angeles’ Walker Buehler picked up the win with seven scoreless innings. The games victory clinched the NL West for the seventh year in a row for the Dodgers.

The Dodgers jumped on it early in the first inning, scoring 4 runs, three of them coming from shortstop Corey Seager with a 3-run homer. He then hit another 2-run homer in the top of the 3rd, making the score 6-0. In the top of the 5th, Gavin Lux hit his first ever major league home run. In the bottom of the 9th, pitcher Caleb Ferguson made the final strikeout to give the Dodgers the National League West Division Championship.

The boys in blue were a little more laid back this year about their winning title. They casually lined up for handshakes just as they would do every other game and waited to go celebrate with the regular beer and champagne celebration. The Dodgers Manager says “Everything we do going forward is to win 11 games in October. The question we’re all going to get asked is, are we going to let our guard down, lose our edge going into the postseason? That’s something I don’t expect from our team, and tomorrow we’re going to expect to win a baseball game.”